Hamden Hall Country Day Lower School
Hamden Hall Country Day School
20 Davis Street
Cultural center rooms, classrooms, administrative offices, gymnasium/cafeteria
The 18,000 SF Lucerne mansion (c. 1906) was originally built for the tobacco magnate Frederick D. Grave. The historic structure features stepped gable roofs, ornate masonry chimneys, a porte cochere, and turrets on the east and west sides. It was later expanded and remodeled (c. 1960) by the prominent architect Eero Saarinen and became the architectural offices of Kevin Roche John Dinkeloo and Associates. The property was purchased by Hamden Hall with the objective of relocating elementary grade students to the site following the subsequent expansion and renovation.
Plans include preservation of the original masonry structure and redesign of its interior to accommodate administrative offices, conference room, as well as spaces designated for art, music, and library science programs. The existing 2,600 SF model room will be converted into a multipurpose room, serving the dual function of gymnasium and cafeteria. Playing fields and outdoor classrooms are also planned for the three acre site. The expansion includes the addition of an entrance vestibule and a new three story structure between the original masonry residence and the model room, and it will house classroom and breakout areas. Interior spaces feature exposed 11' ceilings, pendant lighting, and a glass and steel curtainwall affording views of Lake Whitney. Showcased in these renderings are west and east views of the new glass-enclosed classroom wing.